Washington Energy Summit -- An International Policy Event 2009
2009 Summit Advancing the Global Debate Over Climate Change Policy
spacer grey line
spacer HOME nav line
s nav lines s
spacer 2011 SUMMIT s
s nav lines s
spacer 2010 SUMMIT s
s nav lines s
spacer 2009 SUMMIT
> Overview
> Program

2009 Summit


Advancing the Global Debate Over Climate Change Policy

November 4, 2009
The Willard Hotel
1401 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004

Moderator: Jeff Birnbaum, Managing Editor - Digital, The Washington Times

Advocacy Group / Advocate Panel 9:00 am – 10:15 am
  Charles Drevna
President, National Petrochemical and Refiners Association

Bob Stallman
President, American Farm Bureau Federation

Roger Martella
Partner, Sidley Austin; former General Counsel of the EPA

Jeffrey Clark
Partner, Kirkland & Ellis; former Deputy Assistant Attorney General for the Environment and Natural Resources Division
of the Justice Department
David Bookbinder
Chief Climate Counsel, Sierra Club

Rafe Pomerance
President, Climate Policy Center

Jeremy Symons
Sr. Vice President, Conservation & Education, National Wildlife Federation
Think Tank / Research Organization Panel 10:45 am – 12:00 pm
  Myron Ebell
Director, Energy & Global Warming Policy, Competitive Enterprise Institute

Chris Horner
Senior Fellow, Competitive Enterprise Institute

Dr. Patrick Michaels
Senior Fellow, Climatologist, Cato Institute

Dr. David Kreutzer
Sr. Policy Analyst, Energy Economist & Climate Change, Heritage Foundation
Bracken Hendricks
Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Dr. David Blockstein
Director of Education & Senior Scientist, National Council for Science & Environment

Dr. Paul Higgins
Senior Policy Fellow, American Meteorological Society

Charles Ebinger
Director of the Energy Security Initiative, Brookings Institution

Lunch 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
  1st Keynote: The State of climate science today

Dr. S. Fred Singer
President, Physicist, Science & Environmental
Policy Project

2nd Keynote: The state of climate science today

Dr. Joseph Romm
Senior Fellow, Physicist, Center for American Progress

Congressional Addresses 1:30 pm – 2:45 pm

Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK) Plenary Q&A - Senator Jim Inhofe
Ranking Republican on Environment & Public Works Committee

Sen. Mike Johanns (R-NE) Sen. Mike Johanns
Former Secretary of Agriculture

Rep. Ed Markey (D-MA) Rep. Ed Markey
Chairman of Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming
Closing Keynote - Global Climate Change Agreement
3:15 pm – 4:30 pm
  President Vaclav Klaus President Vaclav Klaus
Current President of the Czech Republic
Opening Plenary Opening Plenary

© 2011 Washington Energy Summit
WADE -- World Alliance for Decentralized Energy